gluten free oats

/Tag:gluten free oats

Is Oats or Oatmeal Gluten Free?

By | 2017-10-29T15:41:15+00:00 November 5th, 2012|Nutrition|

are oats or oatmeal gluten free

There is a controversy about whether oats is a gluten grain.  There have been recent studies showing that oats are not the source of a celiac reaction. Here is one such study:

The research is saying that milled oats are often contaminated with gluten grains.

 “It is now generally accepted that non-contaminated gluten-free oats are safe for a celiac disease diet, with the exception of a small minority of celiacs who may have an additional intolerance to Avenin.”  Says: on Oats


Note:If you are considering going gluten free or wondering if you should

  1. Read Diana’s article on the Dangers of Common Gluten Free Products
  2. Read the article:  Do You Need to Eat a Gluten Free Diet  with Dr. Oz’s self test.
  3. Read 11 Gluten Free Grains to better understand some of the alternatives and their many benefits.
  4. Check out some of Diana’s gluten free recipes by going to the categories section on the right sidebar and finding ‘gluten free’. You can also do a search from the right sidebar.
  5. Consider doing a Healthy BootCamp. All of the recipes your receive for the BootCamp will be gluten free and particularly the upcoming Healthy Baking BootCamp which focuses on gluten free baking.